Sunday, June 26, 2016

Free From....

I discovered a new to me vegan candy bar yesterday. It's dark chocolate sunbutter cups, and it's the first kind I've ever seen that are vegan. My neighborhood QFC was out of Justin's and Theo's dark chocolate peanut butter cups, and these babies jumped out and said "Try Me, I'm Vegan"
The brand is free 2 be, and from what I can see on their website, they're about to be totally vegan! Woot woot! These are pretty good. The chocolate is delicious, but truth be told sunflower seed butter is not my fave. I love sunflower seeds, I guess only in their natural state. So, if you like sunflower seed butter, these might be for you! It's nice that kids who are allergic to nuts can enjoy something similar to the ubiquitous Reese's cups.
It feels good to be back. Life threw me a curve ball, and I needed to let myself have a few days of total despair, and now I'm back, and working on solutions and healing. Something I've learned as someone who has A) faced a lot of turmoil and loss and B) battled depression is to give yourself a time frame for totally losing it, and then pick a day and start dealing little by little. Otherwise you run the risk of getting swept away in the depression, and that's when stuff gets bad. I will elaborate more, just not today, I'm working my way back into the world.
Happy Sunday!

16 comments:

  1. Hope you're ok. Had a similar few days myself hence no blog post last week but feeling ready to face next week. Sending hugs x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You have no idea how much I needed a hug, even if it's through the webz!

      Delete
  2. Welcome back. You've been missed.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, I'm still a little wobbly but I'm back!

      Delete
  3. According to the website, the sunflower cups have dairy.

    http://www.free2bfoods.com/suncups-dark-milk-chocolate/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The ingredients on the package I have are as follows, Dark chocolate(cocoa mass,sugar cocoa butter)sunflower seeds,organic powdered sugar,(evaporated cane juice,tapioca starch)organic palm fruit oil, sea salt. I read on their website that they are going dairy free. Maybe they used to have dairy and now it's a new formula?

      Delete
  4. I never noticed the dark chocolate ones are vegan! Maybe I'll pick them up! But it does look like their milk chocolate does contain milk (kind-of duh, but never hurts to check)

    ReplyDelete
  5. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I think they list dairy as an allergen since the milk chocolate ones have milk. Sort of a "may contain" sort of thing. I mean after all they are making allergy friendly "peanut butter cups" so they are probably being very cautious.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I just found out these are the suncups that used to be in brown packaging and the dark chocolate ones had milk, which always frustrated me. So this is their new packaging, and I guess they really are becoming dairy free. Score!

      Delete
    2. Yeah I am glad you posted this because I kept assuming they weren't vegan because of the old packaging.

      Delete
    3. I am very glad to have learned of a new vegan chocolate too! And this is great news for vegans who have peanut allergies!!

      Delete
  7. Nice find! Wish I could get those here!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Check the natural section of Wegmean's. They sold the old kind which were in a brown package and had dairy, this is the new improved formula!

      Delete
  8. Chocolate helps everything feel more managable.
    ((((Big squishy hugs)))
    Ttrockwood

    ReplyDelete